2017 Architecture Student Awards Presentation

April 14, 2017
Steinberg Auditorium

Please join us for the presentation of the 2017 Architecture Student Awards, beginning at 4p in Steinberg Auditorium.

The following awards will be given to students in the College of Architecture and Graduate School of Architecture & Urban Design:


Faculty Book Award
The Architecture faculty present this award to an outstanding undergraduate student and an outstanding graduate student in Architecture.

Frederick Widmann Prize
This award is given in honor of Frederick Widmann, architect and philanthropist, and honors students who have shown high levels of academic achievement and design ability. Widmann came to the United States from Germany in 1874, settling in St. Louis, where, after serving three years as an apprentice carpenter, he studied architecture as an apprentice with the firm of Walsh and Jungenfeld and at Washington University. In 1884, the firm became Widmann & Walsh, of which he was the active head until his death. Widmann designed many large industrial plants, public buildings, and some of the largest breweries in the country, including the Anheuser-Busch plants in St. Louis, Omaha, San Antonio, Houston, Chicago, and New York. His chief recreation was in making hazardous journeys to remote and heretofore inaccessible regions. A man of powerful physique, he climbed Mt. Rainier in his sixtieth year, and between 1883 and 1923, he repeatedly explored the Utah asphalt and oil shale fields, where the Widmann canyon, named for him, is located in one of the wildest parts.


Alpha Rho Chi Medal
Alpha Rho Chi, a national social fraternity in architecture, awards a medal to the graduating sixth-year student who has shown ability for leadership, has performed willing service for the school, and has given promise of real professional merit.

American Institute of Architects Medal
The American Institute of Architects offers each year to the School of Architecture the AIA school medal, which is awarded to a member of the graduating class in recognition of his/her scholastic achievements, character, leadership, and promise of high professional ability. The student so honored receives the engraved medal and a Certificate of Merit; the runner-up will also be awarded a certificate. The awards are made in the name of the Henry Adams Fund by the Institute.

Master of Urban Design Book Awards
Two book awards will be given to graduate students.

Master of Landscape Architecture Book Awards
Two book awards will be given to graduate students.


Betty Lou Custer Book Award
The St. Louis Chapter of the American Institute of Architects presents a book award in memory of Betty Lou Custer, long-standing executive director to the chapter. In recognition of Custer's service to the profession of architecture, the prize is awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student who has contributed willing service to the School and is earning the Bachelor of Arts with a major in Architecture or Bachelor of Science in Architecture degree.


Association of Licensed Architects Student Merit Award
This award acknowledges architectural students who have exhibited exemplary achievement throughout the year.

American Society of Landscape Architects Service Award
This award, presented by the St. Louis Student Chapter of the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA), recognizes a student who has demonstrated sustained, outstanding service to the student ASLA chapter, the landscape architecture program at WUSTL, the University, and/or the community.

Excellence in Craft Award
Annual awards are given to members of the graduating class, either undergraduate or graduate, in recognition of outstanding achievement in craft.

Hugh Ferriss Award for Architectural Drawing Book Award
This annual award honors Hugh Ferriss, distinguished architect and renderer, class of 1911 and Hon. MArch 1928. This book is awarded to a student who has excelled in architectural drawing in any medium.

William Tao Prize
Established by William K.Y Tao, P.E., alumni, trustee, and affiliate professor to Washington University, the William Tao Prize provides an annual cash award to a member of the graduating class who has demonstrated excellence in the understanding and application of building systems in architecture, including illumination, electrical and mechanical engineering, and energy-efficient design.